Recent Reviews

Submit Your Review

Including Reviews on Zillow See all reviews on Zillow Zillow Real Estate Search

Highly likely to recommend

08/09/2018 -
Bought a home in 2018 in Lanaki Lane Mobile Home Park, Carlsbad, CA 92011.
Professional, patient, passionate. Matt O'Brien helped us find our first home after a long search in a tough market. A true one of a kind agent that has your back, works on your time, has tons of professional experience and advice, and advocates on your behalf. I would recommend Matt to anyone looking to buy a house.

Highly likely to recommend

07/31/2018 -
Bought a Townhouse home in 2018 for approximately $425K in Bay Terraces, San Diego, CA.
Very knowledgeable about the homebuying process. Matt made it easy for us and took the time to explain all the questions we had. He even called the bluff of the seller an made sure we had a new fridge, washer, and dryer! Highly recommended!

Highly likely to recommend

05/25/2018 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2018 for approximately $575K in Temecula, CA.
Matt is the BEST!!! We recently worked with Matt for the 3rd time and again our experience was excellent! He always goes above and beyond for us. I feel confident that he is looking out for our best interest. Anytime I ever need anything he was readily available. I highly recommend Matt! I promise he won’t disappoint!

Highly likely to recommend

04/06/2018 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2017 for approximately $450K in Clairemont Mesa West, San Diego, CA.
Matt was an absolute pleasure to work with finding our new home. When we interviewed him we knew right away that he was the guy for the job. Matt is very resourceful, incredibly honest, gives his honest opinion on everything, and is very knowledgeable of ALL of San Diego and you can tell he loves what he does. He has also been in the business for a long time so on numerous occasions he would comment about a complex or area we were going to and point out pros and cons. There were also time's he pointed out things that we would have never thought about when touring a home. (Such as how far to walk to he park, how easy it would be for the kids the sneak out based on bedroom locations, how lighting in the day would be, etc.) We found our perfect home after a few months of looking and Matt never once pressured us or put a timeline on a time to buy. (Thanks for not giving up on us Matt!) Although we have never sold a home with Matt, we have toured numerous open houses and he does an incredible job. (We have been to hundreds as we enjoy to view homes and his always stood out) We still consider Matt a friend and will ONLY consider him for any selling or buying needs.

Thanks again Matt
Darrick & Maegan

Highly likely to recommend

03/04/2018 -
Bought a Condo home in 2018 for approximately $750K in Carmel Valley, San Diego, CA.
If you want to find an agent to buy your own house in San Diego, I highly recommend Matt as the first choice. We finished our purchase in a few weeks because Matt has provided tremendous help for preparing, assisting and recommending us in all possible aspects of evaluating properties. We got very detailed explanations and suggestions on what to prepare before buying a house in our very first meet. He would notice issues of the houses that are very difficult to find even for a professional house inspector during house inspections. When helped us make decisions, he gave us many suggestions on what to consider, which makes me feel that he is trying to benefit the clients as much as possible, unlike other agents who only want to make money as we heard from other people. Another good thing about Matt is that he knows lots of companies that could be very useful in evaluating and fixing your new house. As far as we have searched, the recommended services are very reliable as well as reasonable in price. This saves us a lot of time in looking for those things. He offers persistent help even after the purchase for a variety of things, not limited to but including keys replacement and decorations around the houses. Overall we are very pleased to work with him for our first house and we hope that our reviews could help other people choose him for buying houses. Limited by my writing, we could not provide many details. But we would like to answer questions if you have any doubts.

Highly likely to recommend

02/14/2018 -
Sold a Condo home in 2017 for approximately $300K in Santee, CA.
Matt has sold two houses for my wife and I while we are living out of state. He is the best real estate agent I've ever met, he goes far beyond for his clients. He is honest, meticulous and on top of the details needed to make a smooth sale. He's super nice too!

Highly likely to recommend

11/28/2017 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2017 for approximately $650K in Clairemont Mesa West, San Diego, CA.
TLDR: Matt is the best realtor out there in the San Diego market---HIGHLY recommend using him!
First, let me start by saying that Matt is on top of his game—he’s excellent at communicating with his clients what the next step is and was always looking after my best interest, even to the detriment of his own personal interest. He was always easy to contact and very friendly and professional. I’m a rather detail-oriented, difficult-to-please person and Matt had PATIENCE beyond what can be expected from anyone. Time and time again, Matt went above-and-beyond what a realtor should do (not even in the job description of a realtor). If you need a realtor to sell your house or find you a place in San Diego, you NEED to use Matt….I recommend that you don’t settle for anyone else. He’s rated so well by many people because it is in fact true!

Highly likely to recommend

11/24/2017 -
Bought a Townhouse home in 2017 for approximately $600K in Carmel Valley, San Diego, CA.
In short, Matt is a GREAT agent.

And here is our story. We are first time buyers, and had little knowledge about everything. We roughly know what type of house we are looking for, and know our budget. Other than that, almost nothing.

We interviewed several agents before we decided to work with Matt. The decision was easy to make. First, he had extensive knowledge about local market. Second, he is very patient to our 'naive' questions regarding purchasing a house.

We are very happy that we have had Matt's help for our home purchasing. He was very responsive. When we were looking for properties, Matt always replied our showing request immediately. As a result, we can always visit these houses at our first convenience. There was one time that we visited an open house on Saturday, and would like to ask Matt to show us the property again the second day. Matt replied our message immediately and drove to the property in an hour so that we can visit the property the same day. That's really impressive.

After we were making offers, Matt represented us very well in any open and frank way. He always keep us notified about the latest situation, and provide us his suggestions. We have to point out that Matt NEVER pushed us on making decisions. On the other hand, he allowed us to go with our own pace so that we can think about all kinds of questions by ourselves, and decide what exactly we want to do with certain properties. We really appreciate it.

Once our offer was accepted, Matt worked closely with us to ensure the process could go seamlessly and smoothly. We finished all the required steps several days earlier than the deadline, and we were well informed during the entire process due to Matt's experience.

This Tuesday, just before Thanksgiving, we became owners 🙂

'Client First' was what Matt wrote in his introduction. That's exactly what he showed when helping us. To conclude, we would point out that less than 6% of agents were selected as "Five Star San Diego Real Estate Agent", and Matt was awarded many times, including in 2016 and 2017. You would know why if you have worked with him 🙂

Thanks Matt!

Highly likely to recommend

11/22/2017 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2017 for approximately $525K in Santee, CA.
Matt did a fantastic job of helping us buy our home! He worked with us through video tours on several homes before we found the perfect one for my husband and I. He never felt pushy or unauthentic and gave honest critiques of the houses we looked at for better or worse. He was waiting for us at the door when we finally arrived at our new home and even continued to follow up afterwards to make sure everything was going well while we were settling in. We highly recommend him to anyone looking at homes in the area!

Highly likely to recommend

09/13/2017 -
Bought a home in 2017 in Rancho Bernardo, San Diego, CA 92128.
From the get-go we knew we'd like working with Matt! He was great in communicating with us and kept us in the loop the entire time.
When we found a home, the other party wasn't the easiest to work with. They had many special demands and were not keeping their deadlines. It was very frustrating to say the least, and I lost my patience multiple times. Thanks Matt for listening!:)
But Matt has shown nothing but professionalism and perserverance to get this deal closed to our satisfaction. I honestly admire his work ethic and honesty with us!
He was great to work with and I would recommend him to anyone who is looking to buy a new home. That is a big investment and if you want someone great on your team that would be Matt!

Highly likely to recommend

07/21/2017 -
Sold a Townhouse home in 2017 for approximately $425K in Morena, San Diego, CA.
If you want to obtain maximum value for your property, sell quickly and minimize paperwork headaches, I strongly recommend Matt O'Brien. Matt identified repairs/upgrades which would make our property more appealing. As a result, we received multiple offers and were in escrow within 10 days of listing, at a price $10,000 greater than the list price.

Highly likely to recommend

07/10/2017 -
Sold a Single Family home in 2017 for approximately $625K in Northwest, Chula Vista, CA.
I give the highest recommendation for Matt O’Brien as he is a stand out realtor who really knows the market, a super knowledgeable businessman and is just an all-around great person…. More, he doesn’t fail to let you know you are important.
This is my second personal transaction with Matt. He helped me buy a home and now sell a home. A home sale, being up there in the biggest decisions one will ever make in a lifetime, is scary, is fun, is emotional, is tiring, is pins and needles, is a race against time, is fiscally frightening, is… is… is… But, Matt makes the roller-coaster ride a great experience.
Matt genuinely cares about you as his client. He works with you, showing his commitment to making the transaction more than just a job. I never felt alone in the process. He is thoughtful and through. He provided the guidance and detail I needed to know, where I trusted that the best decisions would be carried out for the best outcome. He certainly went above and beyond to represent me, especially when I couldn’t be there; and, he always kept me apprised of status, as well as, (amazingly) always returned my calls. More than looking out for my best interest, Matt also found qualified contractors to make repairs and provided staging and decorating (he’s really good at it, so good I wanted to keep it!) which made all the difference in the world. I had multiple offers and in less than a week we were in escrow.
It has been an absolute pleasure to work with Matt. His enthusiasm and collaborative approach is second to none. If I had to do this again, Matt is my only call! I say, “Tell a friend!” I did, and they brag on him now. Thanks Matt!! You are the BEST!

Highly likely to recommend

06/15/2017 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2017 for approximately $475K in El Cajon, CA.
What can i say that hasn't already been said... Matt is well deserving of the 5 star review. He's been my family's realtor helping my parents and sister find their homes. It was a no brainier to go to him once i was ready to start looking. He made the process entirely smooth, always extremely responsive and one of the best negotiators. IF and when its time to sell and find a new place, I hope hes still around.

Thanks again Matt!!!!

Highly likely to recommend

06/05/2017 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2017 for approximately $575K in Adams North, San Diego, CA.
Matt O'brien came to us highly recommended and we soon realized why. He is so patient and helpful during the whole process of buying a home. He always had time for us and made us feel like we were his only clients. His knowledge is unending regarding the process of looking, buying and follow up after. He did all the work and made it painless for us. We can't thank him enough for helping us find the perfect home.

Highly likely to recommend

06/05/2017 -
Bought a Condo home in 2017 for approximately $550K in Morena, San Diego, CA.
Matt was great to work with on the purchase of our home. We didn’t have a specific location or even a dwelling type in mind when we started looking, but he was very patient with us as we switched between condos, townhomes, and detached homes and ranged from Rancho Bernardo to Mission Valley. Matt knew about all the neighborhoods and complexes that we toured; he is very knowledgeable about individual neighborhoods and HOAs. His insider knowledge of one of the complexes is how we ultimately found our home. Throughout the whole process, Matt was always available for any questions, to arrange showings, and put in offers. He was very responsive even on evenings and weekends, which was critical given how competitive the market was when we were looking.

Matt always had useful advice about long and short term considerations of any specific property and he gave suggestions for potential improvements/repairs for the places we viewed together. He has good connections, and we have been happy with everyone we worked with that Matt has recommended. Matt facilitated most of the interactions and inspections that occurred during escrow, which made the whole process much easier than we had been anticipating.

An easygoing and likeable person, we cannot recommend Matt highly enough.

Highly likely to recommend

05/04/2017 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2017 for approximately $975K in North Park, San Diego, CA.
I don’t know if it was by fate or divine intervention that my husband and I met Matt O’Brien. All that I know is that it was our lucky day however it came about. We were in San Diego over the Thanksgiving holiday week to start a home search. Our son lives in Vista and we had decided to move from Denver for our retirement. We were basically driving around neighborhoods trying to get some perspective about where we might want to live. Totally clueless was how I would describe us at that time. We knew absolutely NOTHING about San Diego. We viewed homes for sale online using the computer in the lobby of our hotel!! We saw what appeared to be a very nice condo in a development near San Diego State U. We phoned the listing number on the sign and Matt answered. It was not his listing but he was the only one in the office at the time. He quite kindly said that he would drive over, meet us there and show us the property. . . He put himself out for two people from out of town who were only going to be there another day. That is an example of the kind of person that he is. When we were ready to get serious, we did not hesitate in calling Matt to help us in our home search.
Over the next four months he sent us listings online that he thought might interest us. Since we could not view them in person, Matt was always willing, even on short notice, to video tour homes for us. Looking back at some of the properties we chose to view, I’m sure he wondered WHAT IN THE WORLD we were thinking about. We soon learned that online photos can be very misleading. We valued his remarks as he walked through each property like “The floor seems to be sloped a little here,” (we heard that one more than once!), “the oven door doesn’t seem to stay closed”, “The ceiling over here is a little too low to clear without ducking” and other such asides. He cautioned us whenever he observed a serious concern. In the end, Matt actually located the house that we purchased. He told us that there was a listing that we really should look at. Once again, he video toured it and, upon seeing it, we were completely smitten. He guided us through the bidding process in order to present the sellers with the best possible offer. . . .and it was successful. He assisted us in lining up several home inspections within the narrow time frame we were given. He performed the final walk through and completed the closing.
I had prayed for direction and help in our home search endeavor and I believe that Matt was sent our way for a reason. Matt is a patient, thoughtful, and ethical person. He is very congenial and easy to talk to. He displays a great enthusiasm for his work; for helping people. Most importantly, he is extremely knowledgeable about real estate within the greater San Diego area. I recommend him unconditionally to anyone buying or selling real estate here.
Claudia and Tom Basso

Highly likely to recommend

01/28/2017 -
Bought and sold a home in 2016 in Barrio Logan, San Diego, CA 92101.
Matt O'Brien is the BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE I've ever had in any industry anywhere in the world. I can say this without exaggeration at all because Matt's sole focus is your best interest. Matt is friendly, patient, extremely knowledgeable about real estate, has contacts to help with the buying and selling process across Southern California, always available, and has the highest integrity you'll find in any industry especially the sales industry.

We worked with Matt for over 8 months to help us find a new home, and we can't thank him enough for everything he has done for us. Here are some examples of his traits below:

1) We were half way through escrow, and we found some very questionable financial information about the condo we were about to purchase. We were two weeks from owning a home, and Matt was two weeks away from making his commission. However, he still put us in touch with a property manager to clarify the financial situation. We found the condo association was essentially broke, and Matt was the first to recommend not buying this place. This was such an amazing sign of integrity on his part and putting our best interests first.

2) Not only is Matt a real estate agent, he could also be an interior decorator. Every time we looked at condos, he would be able to discuss the pros and cons of the layouts and explain details that we just didn't understand. Such as types of windows, doors, walls, electric wiring, etc. This really helped us evaluate a property for everyday living conditions and not just the initial glance.

3) He loves his job!! You can see this in his friendly attitude and incredible patience. He'll explain everything to you in as much detail as you want. He works around your schedule and is always available - weekends and evenings included. I know he had multiple clients, but he stills gives you attention like you are his only one. He did this for the entire 8+ months we worked with him.

4) His contacts - he helped us find a mortgage broker that was offering rates lower than anywhere else around which included fees, the property manager discussed above, he found all the inspectors that we used and some even offered free estimates only because we working with Matt.

Matt is a spectacular real estate agent, and we hope to work with him in the future.

Highly likely to recommend

01/13/2017 -
Bought a Condo home in 2016 for approximately $525K in Tierrasanta, San Diego, CA.
While the San Diego market has plenty of homes to choose from, finding a home to purchase can be a daunting and unnerving challenge.

In the squared circle, a.k.a. the boxing ring, boxers rely heavily upon an experienced coach or teammate, a.k.a. corner man, to assist them between rounds to help them win the bout. In the real estate market, the corner man is a realtor—a licensed professional who sticks by your side and assists and/or guides you throughout the home buying process 24/7-365.

For us, long before we were ready to seal the deal and purchase a home, our realtor and corner man, Matt O’Brien stuck by our side, educated us on the entire process and showed us home after home after home until we found the one that fit our budget and quality of life needs. Even after the purchase, Mr. O’Brien ensured the post purchase process went smoothly for us.

In boxing, Ray Arcel, Mannie Seamon, Al Silvani, Eddie Futch and Angelo Dundee are just a few of the greatest corner men in the business. When it comes to real estate and the home buying process throughout San Diego, Mr. O’Brien is the realtor you want and need in your corner.

Highly likely to recommend

12/31/2016 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $450K in El Cajon, CA.
Matt was awesome! He worked with our incredibly hectic schedules and would show us houses (sometimes a dozen in a day if we asked!) at times that worked for us, including evenings and weekends. When he was showing houses to us we had his undivided attention - he wouldn't even answer phone calls while he was showing us houses unless it was very urgent. He helped us find our dream home and helped us get through escrow while we were away on vacation, which was amazing! He offered us great insight and advice that guided our purchasing decision to ultimately land us in our new home. Thank you Matt!

Highly likely to recommend

12/19/2016 -
Bought and sold a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $775K in Scripps Ranch, San Diego, CA.
Highly recommended! My husband and I recently purchased a new home and sold our existing condo with Matt as our realtor on both transactions. Matt is a true professional and very helpful. Matt worked with us through the entire process from showing us properties, helping to explain real estate contracts, inspections, and advocating in our best interest. It is clear that Matt has extensive real estate knowledge and takes care to understand all aspects of the transaction process. Matt is incredibly responsive and answered emails, texts, or phone calls promptly. Also, when meeting with Matt, he provides his full attention and is respectful of your time. He worked hard to keep us up to date on any developments and we had confidence in his ability to navigate the home buying and selling process. In regards to selling our condo, Matt was incredibly knowledgeable and provided recommendations on how we could increase our property's appeal. He provided suggestions in a "no-pressure" manner, where we would feel comfortable in not taking his suggestions if we chose not to. Given Matt's strong reputation and our interactions with him through the process, we decided to take his recommendations and it really paid off. We put our condo on the market and closed on the transaction less than 30 days later for more than list price! Overall, it was a great experience working with Matt - he is an honest, hard-working, respectful person - all around good guy. I would recommend him to anyone. Thanks Matt - we appreciate all your help!

Highly likely to recommend

11/24/2016 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $525K in University Heights, San Diego, CA.
Matt has been AMAZING! We had a very specific type of property in mind and a firm budget. Matt was diligent in finding the perfect house. He was extremely quick to answer calls, texts and emails and I can't even count the number of late-night phone calls he had with my husband. Not only was he a great realtor, he also has an eye for architecture and design. In every house he showed us, he had great ideas on how to improve it to get a better return on our investment. Plus, Matt knows San Diego like the back of his hand. We will definitely be using him when we are ready to buy or sell again!!

Highly likely to recommend

11/20/2016 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $475K in Ramona, CA.
We were referred to Matt from a friend who had worked with Matt on buying their home and they had nothing but great things to say about him. My girlfriend contacted Matt on Wednesday and arranged viewings for the next day. That evening, Matt sent us a video message introducing himself to us. First impressions are everything and from his introduction we felt that he was sincere, professional, and not pushy at all about working with him. We had actually contacted other agents as well in our initial search for a home to setup viewings before we were working with Matt, and received calls from them regularly to try and pressure us into working with them. Matt's approach was simple, he stated that we would take a look at some homes as a "test drive" and hope that we could work together. Fast forward to after the first day in which Matt took us to see 19 houses. That was a long day, but Matt had nothing but our best interest in mind letting us know what he thought about each house we went to, and taking our feedback about what we were looking for to heart to narrow our search down for the perfect home. Throughout the process (over 30 homes viewed) we never once felt like we were "just another client" and that he didn't have time to answer questions or address concerns we had. We felt like we were the ONLY clients he had, which is amazing considering the amount of clients he has. Matt was always in reach, a phone call, text or email away and responded quickly, efficiently, and precisely. Any questions we had were answered almost immediately. What's great about Matt is that instead of a Realtor, we've found someone that we consider a friend (who just also happened to find us the perfect home). I will continue to recommend him to friends that are looking for a home, as I know he'll treat them each with the same level of professionalism, courtesy, and ensure that their home buying experience is as easy and painless as possible.

Highly likely to recommend

11/05/2016 -
Bought a Condo home in 2016 for approximately $300K in Rancho Penasquitos, San Diego, CA.
Dear Matt,

Thank you so much for taking such good care of us. We have been so impressed by your thoroughness, detail and consideration. Can’t tell you how much we appreciate your effort, and professionalism in real estate. You kept us informed every step of the way.

We are very glad that Daniel referred you to us.

Again, thank you for all your help in making our dream of our first home a reality.

Sincerely,

Jessica and Eric Nguyen

Highly likely to recommend

09/18/2016 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $575K in Serra Mesa, San Diego, CA.
If you want to purchaser sale your home, Matt is the man. I am so thankful to chose him as my agent. We love our new home!
It's a pleasure to work with him. He is so patient, honest and hard worker person. He always advised us on positive and negative points of each house that we saw during our research to finding our home.
He explain to us how the process would unfold and recommended things that we could do to help with our purchase. He always took extra miles to help us.
He clearly loves his job and put 100% energy to help you to find your special place to call it your home.
He is the best one in this city. He has a Great sense of humor, high energy level, and great work ethic. He amazed us with his flexibility, creativity, and persistence in marketing. His excellent services, frequent communications, professionalism and dependability made buying process so much easier for us. We knew instantly that we had selected the right Realtor.
We were so pleased that every phone call to answer our questions or calm our concerns was returned so quickly!
His attention to detail as well as his knowledge of the current market assisted us in understanding what people in this area are looking for in a home. We would certainly recommend his services to anyone that is interested in buying or selling a home.

Highly likely to recommend

09/06/2016 -
Sold a Townhouse home in 2016 for approximately $450K in Linda Vista, San Diego, CA.
I found Matt O'Brien through the Zillow reviews and could not have been more pleased with his work. This was my first time selling a home and Matt was kind enough to walk me through each and every step and explain the many things I did not understand. He helped me pick out new carpet and appliances and even negotiated discounts for me. His knowledge about what needed updates and what was not necessary was a huge help. Once we updated everything and put it on the market it sold in 3 days!!! I would not hesitate to recommend Matt to anyone needing to buy or sell their home.

Highly likely to recommend

06/18/2016 -
Helped me rent a Townhouse home in Mira Mesa, San Diego, CA.
Matt O’Brien is extremely helpful and very knowledgeable. I would HIGHLY recommend him.
My husband and I were relocating to San Diego and had no idea where to even look at a place. As we were unsure where we would end up we only wanted to rent. A friend of a friend recommended we give Matt a call. We came into town to check out the area and set an appointment up with him. He explained to us that he did not work with rental but gave us advice on areas and online resources so help us find a place to rent that suited us.
I was back in North Carolina when I finally found a couple of places I might be interested in. Once again, it was Matt to the rescue. He took his own time and went out to the two places and did a Skype call to show me what the inside of these places and the outside areas looked like. He gave me facts about each area so I could make an extremely well informed decision on what place was best for us. He went above and beyond what anyone else would do for a couple who weren't even ready to buy a house yet!
I don’t want to gush, but trust me when I say that there are no words what would do justice to describe what an amazing person he is. I am absolutely positive if you have Matt as your agent, you will not be disappointed.

Highly likely to recommend

04/28/2016 -
Sold a Townhouse home in 2016 for approximately $450K in Morena, San Diego, CA.
Matt did an excellent job prepping and selling our town house in San Diego. We had moved out of state a couple years ago and met Matt before we left. We were a little nervous going into the process since we wouldn't be there to physically help get the property ready. We put our trust in Matt and he delivered fast. I initially talked to Matt to see what he recommended doing to the property to add value and help it sell. Every recommendation he made was spot on. He coordinated the handyman work and different services we had done on our unit. There was no delay in the work either, he had people there fast and they didn't leave until the work was done. All the work was high quality. After about two weeks our townhouse looked awesome and was ready to go on the market. Matt recommended staging the unit and the stager he recommended made the unit look beautiful. We had an open house, and in two weeks the unit sold at asking price. The escrow process was smooth and we closed in about 1 month. The entire time Matt's communication was fast and efficient. There was never a delay on paperwork or any information we needed. If you want someone you can trust, we highly recommend Matt.

Highly likely to recommend

03/05/2016 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2016 for approximately $525K in Grantville, San Diego, CA.
I am currently in the beginning steps of escrow, and am so excited to have had Matt hold my hand through the entire process. He is amazing!He has been patient with the house hunting trips, he is knowledgeable about the industry (been in it for more than a decade, or more), he is realistic (will always give you the good and the bad, and the possibilities), and is really great with communication.

If anything, he is big on communication, and making sure you understand everything. Because of that, he can sometimes repeat himself, but, because he repeats himself, it'll clue you in to how important the topic is, or help you remember better. My escrow period should be fairly short, because of his recommendations, and timely approach.

I am a first-time home buyer, and went in with very little knowledge. It was hard to ask questions, that I never even thought to ask. The thought of buying my first home was kind of intimidating, but Matt made it very comfortable, and encouraged me to ask questions and to do research. He wanted me to be informed, and had great recommendations for many of the steps of the process. I couldn't have asked for better. He's also detailed, and concise. Exactly what you want in a realtor!

Highly likely to recommend

12/15/2015 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2015 for approximately $525K in Golden Hill, San Diego, CA.
I highly recommend Matt O'Brien for any and all Real Estate Services. He was our Agent and he helped us with the purchase our very first home! At first, my fiancé and I were hesitant about making the decision and committing to the process of buying for the first time. Thanks to Matt and his dedication, hard work, and incredible knowledge and experience, he made it happen for us! We got the house we wanted, at the price we wanted. He is a true Professional. Thank you very much Matt!
Cheers,
Eric & Esther

Highly likely to recommend

11/17/2015 -
Sold a Townhouse home in 2015 for approximately $400K in Morena, San Diego, CA.
Wow! I'm extremely pleased with Matt's performance representing me during the sale of my property. He provided solid advice and counsel in all aspects of selling, preparatory work, negotiations, and associated paperwork. After guiding me as what to expect, how to properly stage and market the house, I received a 98.7 percent of full price offer.

I'd already moved cross-country, so nearly all document transactions were conducted via Smart Phone. Matt's very savvy about the process, communicates promptly and often, and made it very easy for me.

Matt's knowledge of market conditions, contacts, and professional experience are impressive, and directly contributed to the quick sale of my home. Matt's the guy you want in your corner, and he has my highest recommendation.

Highly likely to recommend

10/30/2015 -
Bought a home in 2015 in Mountain View, San Diego, CA 92113.
I could not be any happier with my experience with Matt. My fiancée and I were first-time home buyers, and I like to know everything there is to know before making such a big decision. My fiancée gave me a small budget, and I was disappointed knowing we would not find anything I wanted within the budget. Matt went above and beyond to help us find the home we were looking for, and to make sure that I understood everything that I needed to know! I wanted land as well as a house, and Matt helped us find a house and land, something I never expected! He went above and beyond to make sure that I understood what was happening, each step of the way.

He gave me excellent guidance in all aspects of searching for the house. He really listened to the items that my fiancée and I wanted, and he would make suggestions on how to better the house to make it exactly what we were looking for. He was a trooper when we were looking at the different homes, some of them my fiancée was scared to walk through and Matt stayed very professional the entire time. Then one day we found a home and fell in love. Matt walked us through the offer process, and our offer ended up getting accepted.

After the offer was accepted the real test for Matt began! The seller was a horrible person to do business with, but Matt stayed very professional and kept me posted each step of the way. He stuck in there and my fiancée and I ended up getting the home that we fell in love with.

I would recommend Matt to anyone who is looking to buy a home. He did a great job walking me through the entire process so that I understood exactly what was happening. He did not only work the typical office hours and was always available to answer questions at all times of the day and night. He always made sure to point out both the positives and the negatives of the houses that we looked at, and I never once felt like he was being pushy. You can tell he takes his job very seriously, which is good when you are looking to buy a home. If I ever need another realtor I will definitely be contacting Matt!

Highly likely to recommend

10/25/2015 -
Sold a Single Family home in 2015 for approximately $375K in Santee, CA.
Matt went above and beyond what was expected as a real estate agent. He always made himself available and even through he had multiple clients, I always felt like I was a priority, which speaks volumes of his time management. This was my first time selling a home so I really relied on his experience for many of my decisions. He never led me astray as I'm very happy with the end result.

Highly likely to recommend

07/25/2015 -
Sold a Townhouse home in 2015 for approximately $450K in Morena, San Diego, CA.
I can't say enough about what a great job Matt did for us in helping us sell our condo. At every step in the process, he gave advice that proved to be absolutely right in accomplishing a quick sale at a higher than market price. He provided excellent service in handling the details of getting the property listed, advertising it, negotiating with potential buyers, and closing the sale; while keeping us well informed at every step. We were able to trust him to always act in our best interests and deal with unforeseen situations for us that arose during the listing and sale process. The service he provided was definitely beyond the usual and ordinary.

Highly likely to recommend

07/25/2015 -
Sold a home in 2015 in Tierrasanta, Santee, CA 92071.
I had Matt represent me through a referral from my next door neighbor who he represented.

Matt is attentive and not a pushy agent. His strategy on selling our house was spot on. We had multiple offers and ended up selling it for more than the list price.

He even screened the agent for our new house since we were buying out of state and we were extremely pleased.

Thanks so much Matt for your attention to detail.

Highly likely to recommend

06/13/2015 -
Bought a Multi Family home in 2015 for approximately $325K in Escondido, CA.
I was referred to Matt by a close friend who had recently bought a home in Escondido. From the very beggining Matt was always able to work with all my needs. He was extremely supportive and helpful at every turn. He is very knowledgeable and helped me every step of the way. He made the entire buying process as easy and smooth as buying a home can be and I plan on referring him to everyone who is looking for a realtor.

Highly likely to recommend

05/30/2015 -
Bought a home in 2015 in Otay Ranch, Chula Vista, CA 91913.
As newlyweds, my wife and I were in the market for a house when we found out we were expecting a baby on the way. We reached out to Matt based on his highly rated profile, years of experience, and history of sold properties Zillow and every online outlet he is featured in.

As first time home buyers we had no clue what to expect when setting foot in his office. Matt held our hands every step of the way in buying a home. He showed us 2 homes we saw on Zillow that met our criteria. We made an offer on the first home we visited (which was rare for him). When the seller accepted it was the smoothest process any first time home buyer could ever ask for. Matt kept us in the loop through daily phone calls, emails, and text messages. If we had any questions he was always there at our beck and call. He lived up to the terms he taught us, "fiduciary duty" for our entire home buying process.

My wife and I would highly recommend Matt to anyone looking for a realtor that shows high quality professionalism and great knowledge in the real estate business.

Highly likely to recommend

05/14/2015 -
Sold a Townhouse home in 2015 for approximately $400K in Morena, San Diego, CA.
Matt was fantastic from our first conversation until closing, earning every one of those honest five-star ratings above. My selling a condo in San Diego while residing in New York could have presented innumerable headaches, but Matt exceeded my every expectation and made the entire process – from effectively acting as a consultant general contractor for needed renovations, to staging, and shrewd price/terms negotiation – a breeze on my end. He was incredibly communicative and took the initiative on errands I wouldn't have felt comfortable asking of a close friend or family member.

Matt was recommended to me as the go-to expert for the Friars Village condo complex, and proved that solidly. I can't recommend him strongly enough.

Highly likely to recommend

04/30/2015 -
Sold a Townhouse home in 2015 for approximately $325K in Morena, San Diego, CA.
I currently live in Northern California & wanted to sell my San Diego condo
I remembered a conversation with Matt from earlier and called him up. I was a bit hesitant of going through the whole procedure remotely. I thought I would need to make a couple of trip or two
But Matt was SO professional, helpful and transparent, not once did I feel the need to make a trip to San Diego.
He had an excellent system of getting document signatures online. He was very responsive to calls and emails. He is aware of the market situation. He had a great selling strategy which paid of very well : We got offers the very next day of listing !
I wouldn’t hesistate to use his services again and recommmend him in a heartbeat ! Look no further.

Highly likely to recommend

04/25/2015 -
Bought a Condo home in 2015 for approximately $200K in San Carlos, San Diego, CA.
I rarely give 5-star reviews but Matt O'Brien is a fine human being and a superb real estate professional. He is an All Ways kind of professional: always available, always on time, always answers questions clearly, always has client's best interest in mind, always on top of documentation, and always in integrity. Matt has a way of keeping a stressful process calm, forward moving, and in perspective. He always delivered what he promised; he referred good vendors and services; and when he didn't know the answer to something he'd inquire and get back to me. He more than once went to bat for me yet always in a way that was respectful towards others. I recommend Matt O'Brien wholeheartedly.

Highly likely to recommend

04/07/2015 -
Bought and sold a Single Family home in 2014 for approximately $700K in University City, San Diego, CA.
Buying and selling a home has to rate as being among the most stressful life events. We’ve just experienced both and want to share our experiences with you because we had the most wonderful real estate agent in San Diego. We meet Matt O’Brien, Realty One, while casually looking at a house next door to a friend. He seemed highly professional, knowledgable, and had a pleasant and easygoing personality. We kept changing our minds about what part of San Diego we were interested in but Matt persevered. We asked to see almost 30 houses we viewed on the internet. Matt was always patient, pointing out the pro’s and con’s of each house, while continuing to listen as we honed our actual needs for the future. Matt was never pushy, he allowed us to decide what we did and did not want to view. He worked with us through several escrows, always insuring that we had inspections prior to any final offers. This insistence on inspections saved us from making several very serious mistakes. When we finally found “the perfect house” Matt was amazing in his negotiations with the seller, obtaining almost a $20,000 decrease in the price for needed repairs. Throughout the process, his excellent legal knowledge of the escrow documents uncovered many errors on the part of the other brokers. In addition, he was able to refer us to a number of firms that did our repairs at very frugal prices.

On the selling side, Matt was every bit as effective with our old house. He made many suggestions for small repairs that helped to enhance the house and yard. He also had the house staged which greatly increased the presentation of that “first view.” He spent time talking with the appraiser and proving him with a lot of comps that mirrored more precisely our own house and it’s neighborhood. He proved his experience again with the pricing of the house and we had three good offers in five days. This lead to a bidding between buyers and helped increase the price we received for the house.

Matt O’Brien helped make this incredibly stressful experience a great deal easier than it might have been. We were approached by several other brokers wishing to sell our house but found them either too pushy with their own agenda or not willing to spend much time with us or really listen to our needs. Matt stuck with us when I think other brokers might have given up. I highly recommend him for any of your real estate needs, be they small or large, and anywhere in the San Diego County area. Matt is the Best.

Highly likely to recommend

02/23/2015 -
Bought a Condo home in 2015 for approximately $175K in La Mesa, CA.
Matt is the BEST!! He worked with my parents when they were looking to purchase a home a few years ago and he was so wonderful then that I knew I would be working with him when I was ready to buy my own place. This was my first home purchase and Matt was great at explaining every step of the process to me. He was so flexible with setting up times to see properties and was always responsive to my phone calls, emails, or texts. He was always patient, answered all of my questions and never pressured me into making decisions. He is also terribly funny which made every outing an adventure. When I finally found a property it ended up being a difficult purchase due to the sellers' situation. Matt's meticulousness was amazing. He worked very hard to make sure all of my bases were covered and the purchase went as smoothly as possible. I don't know what I would have done without him. The next time I need to purchase or sell property I will definitely be calling Matt.

Highly likely to recommend

01/19/2015 -
Bought a home in 2015 in Mira Mesa, San Diego, CA 92126.
I had a great experience with Matt. I grew up in San Diego and was looking to buy my first place in this wonderful city. A friend of mine who is actually a mortage broker (Orlando Brittian) recommended Matt and I'm sure glad that he did. Even though I found the place I wanted relatively fast, I NEVER felt pressured into buying a place. After a bad experience with a previous realtor it was a nice feeling to have someone who was looking out for my best interest. The process was very smooth and informative which was great because this was my first time buying a home, so smooth that I actually closed escrow about a week early. I would definitely recommend Matt to anyone looking to buy in San Diego.

Highly likely to recommend

11/07/2014 -
Sold a Condo home in 2014 for approximately $250K in San Carlos, San Diego, CA.
With many changes in my life taking place at one time, I needed to sell my condo in San Carlos fairly quickly. Matt was very understanding and helpful in guiding me through the process of selling my property.

Matt made a few suggestions about what I could do to update and improve the property and worked with me to stage my condo. He also booked a professional photographer to make my place look its best online and on fliers.

His knowledge of the real estate market and his professional expertise were invaluable determining a price and strategy to sell my property quickly.

Matt kept in touch and updated me through every step. At times we spoke several times a day. He was always available to me and returned my emails, texts and phone calls promptly.

Matt was always honest, helpful, and trustworthy throughout the whole selling process and his attention to detail is extraordinary. He made the experience as stress free as possible and at times it was actually pretty fun. Matt’s a great guy. I would highly recommend him to any of my family or friends.

Highly likely to recommend

11/03/2014 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2014 for approximately $425K in Escondido, CA.
Matt was amazing! My wife and I were worried about being able to obtain a mortgage loan and when we first approached Matt we explained our financial situation to him and our worries. He got us together with a awesome mortgage broker named Renzo Marzano who runs MAR Financial who was able to get us a very good loan rate.

Matt was always honest, helpful, and trustworthy throughout the whole home buying process. It was very obvious from the beginning that he was not trying to rush us into making a quick purchase to get his payday, and patiently helped us find the house that was perfect for us. Matt did a wonderful job explaining everything to us through out the whole process, and was very helpful and straight forward in the negotiation process.

He also laughed at all my jokes! I will be inviting Matt to our first pool party BBQ at our new home because I honestly feel I made a friend!

Highly likely to recommend

10/26/2014 -
Sold a home in 2014.
I just wanted to share our recent experience with Matt O’Brien as our realtor. We live in Utah and we often received fliers in the mail from realtors. When we got ready to sell our San Diego property, we contacted several of them, including Matt. We were most impressed by his friendly but professional manner instead of the sales pitch attitude.
Our home was in need of some renovation and repair, but Matt was extremely helpful in this area. He shared his opinions of what we might get if we sold it as-is with no repairs and what we might get if we did some repairs. I was weary that we could actually get that much more, but we went forward with alterations. He put us in contact with builders in the area that he had worked with successfully in the past and was also very helpful in guiding us as to what would look good and sell well in this type of unit.
During the remodel, he was above and beyond in his help. He worked with the builder so things ran smoothly, and kept us informed as to the progress. He did whatever was necessary, from choosing and purchasing materials to working with the HOA. Because of his help, the long-distance project went much smoother than we had ever expected.
When it came to selling the property, he kept in contact with us as to any activity. With his help, we sold the property at a fair price in a very short time and walked away with more money. (He actually told me it was the highest price for our floor plan in over 2 years!)
Again, with the distance involved, he made the experience very pleasant. We were not required to make any trips to SD to accomplish the sale. The paperwork was all in order, and we had our funding in a timely manner.
We’ve had the opportunity to work with many realtors in the past several years and Matt O’Brien has gone way above and beyond what we would have ever imagined and this has been by far our best experience. I actually asked him if he could move to Utah and help with real estate here.
You owe it to yourself to at least give him a call and see for yourself.
--Gary and Becky Colf

Highly likely to recommend

09/11/2014 -
Sold a Condo home in 2014 for approximately $300K in Morena, San Diego, CA.
Hi All, Just had to let everyone know our condo just closed escrow and they have the keys and WE HAVE THE MONEY!! Just about two months from start to finish.
I wasn't looking forward to go through all this - you hear such horror stories - but we were amazed at how easy Matt made the whole process.
We did the first walk through with Matt where he made suggestions as to what changes would make the place sell faster and for more money.
Matt even went with us to choose paint colors, fixtures, etc. He knew what the buyers were looking for., we didn't.
Next Matt introduced us to Julio. He has a conpany that does home repairs. He was a gem - the workmanship was great and he did things on time and on budget.
The next step was to bring in a stager (at Matt's cost) who made the condo "shine".. Then it was the photographer's turn to make sure the looked it's very best for the flyers and on line pictures.
The first open house was on a Sunday and we accepted an offer the following Friday.
The paperwork was what I was dreading most. But again Matt was there to hand hold us through the entire process. Every few days he would call or stop by to let us know how things were going.
We hve another condo and Ii'll bet you can guess who we'll call when we get ready to sell it.
If you have questions or need help with any real estate problems give Matt O'Brien a call. I'm sure you will have jusst as great a time working with him as we did.
Good luck and contact us if we can answer any questions , Margo and Chuck

Highly likely to recommend

08/23/2014 -
Sold a Single Family home in 2014 for approximately $500K in El Cajon, CA.
Matt came highly recommended to us. He did a wonderful job with the sale of our house. The process was smooth, because he insured the little details were done right. His use of professional stagers and photographer insured maximum exposure for our house. It sold within 2 days of being listed for above our asking price. I would not hesitate to recommend him to my friends and family

Highly likely to recommend

08/10/2014 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2014 for approximately $400K in Morena, San Diego, CA.
Matt O'Brien did a tremendous job helping us acquire a condo at Friars Village. We were actually just out looking for rentals for our USD student daughter. We came across Matt's name on several sale listings. We soon realized that buying a condo in the USD area was the best investment. Matt showed us everything in our range and helped us negotiate the best deal. The process took patience due to the sellers issues. All throughout, Matt kept us informed and we purchased the condo with no stress. We would use Matt's expertise again in a heartbeat.

Highly likely to recommend

08/04/2014 -
Bought a home in 2014 in La Mesa, CA 91942.
I was a first time home buyer not really knowing where to start. Matt was excellent at explain everything in the process, one step at a time. He was very patient, calm, had answer for all my questions, all with no pressure, just good advice.

When first getting started he brought in a wonderful loan agent to help my get an idea of price ranges and monthly payments. When setting up searches he pointed out things worth considering I wouldn't have thought about normally.

He was very flexible with showing homes in afternoons, evenings and weekends, whenever time fit. No pressure to buy, but he was great at pointing out things worth noticing from years of buying and selling homes. He waited for me to find the home I loved and then went to work to do whatever he could to make sure it worked.

Matt went above and beyond in helping explain all the overwhelming paperwork for making an offer and going through escrow one step at a time. He made the whole process very easy to understand and manage.

Every after closing he was very open to all the random questions a first time home buyer has.

I can't recommend Matt enough, he took a complicated and confusing process and made it straightforward and painless.

Highly likely to recommend

08/03/2014 -
Bought a Single Family home in 2014 for approximately $500K in San Carlos, San Diego, CA.
Matt is the best realtor I have ever worked with by far. I started working with Matt in my quest for a home after I relocated to San Diego , he came highly recommended by a dear friend of mine who had worked with him a few years before and was extremely satisfied.
It was a difficult task finding the right home. We seemed to know what we wanted but our offers were sometimes rejected or there was a revelation made about the home that made it a liability. Matt always steered us away from the pitfalls and guided us, while protecting our interest intensely. He called the Lender to keep abreast with the progress of our loan and to make sure things stayed within our prescribed budget.
Once we went to a home and he walked across the floors and closed all the doors to check for foundation issues. He did his homework and would promptly notify us of any changes. He was always available for questions and even told us we should take time to think or be sure of our decision once we made it. He never rushed us or became frustrated.
Finally we got a home that met all the criteria we wanted and got it within our budget and Matt negotiated money for repairs!! He is a true professional !!!